leave a note____
_newest entry___
__entry index___
___diaryland___

2003-03-12 - 12:16 p.m.

Uh-oh. Blank page.

In theory, it was a good idea to write my diary entry before I got started with my day, but now I'm just not sure what to say. I'm a poet and don't even know it. Mekka-lekka-hi-mekka-hiney-ho.

Now that we all know a bit more about Paul Reuben, I wonder if that genie's phrase was an inside joke that no one was supposed to get. You know, "make-a like-a high, make a hiney ho" if a hiney ho is hmmmm how to put it delicately.. what Led Zeppelin were talking about when they said "I wanna be your backdoor man"? What a strange thought to be having first thing in the afternoon.

Had a great time at badminton last night. I played some very intense games and although I don't feel as though I'm striking the bird nearly as well, I was making better position choices and hit some really decent backhand clears, which I usually have trouble with. It's funny, it's just like golf. If I spend a little time away from it, then I come back rusty all-around but suddenly better at something that gave me trouble before. Also just like my programming, too. Hmm.

Speaking of programming, that's my task today. I aim to fix up the latest version of the seed app which for some reason got hosed just before I got laid off. I had been making some massive changes to it and something in the process broke. Then I think the work on it was delayed for some reason while we did something else, and I never got back to it. The end result is that the latest version in CVS compiles but doesn't work properly (a big no-no) and I've been going back to a tagged build for all the seed exe's we've needed. Well, that stopped being a valid solution when I had to make changes to the seed because I had checked out using the tag but couldn't check back in that way. I hope I didn't hose things completely in CVS.. that would really suck. I don't think so, though.. it gave me some error about not being able to check in on a non-branch tag. Ah! Doh! I should have branched it at the last valid tag so that I was working from known-good code. Although that's not really what branches are for.. but whatever. Probably a better temp solution would have been to copy all the valid source files to a new directory and create a new project in the repository called "temp_seed" or something.

Lovely, I'm having an internal discussion with myself about what to do with a programming project in the middle of a diary entry. In the words of my friend and ex-coworker Paul Smyk: "Not only do I think you are crazy, but you are mad as hell".

But I just think I'm different. And different is good, in these cookie-cutter times.

K, I'd better get to work.

Ps. I started a hardcore barbarian character in Diablo 2 yesterday. We'll see if he survives first contact with the big bosses. Andariel was no problem so maybe Duriel will fall easily too. Nightmare level should be the real test .. shiver. Hardcore is so much freakier.

previous - next