leave a note____
_newest entry___
__entry index___
___diaryland___

2003-09-08 - 11:43 a.m.

la la la. I am waiting for a phone call. It is 11:40 and I've been getting antsy about the 11:30 meeting I'm having today. It's always like this when something is going to happen... at first it seems like time drags then WHAM it's time and I get antsy. Nothing to get antsy about, really, it's just a work meeting. I'm just waiting for the phone to ring.

I lowered my antsiness level, though, by deciding to use the portable phone so I don't have to run over to the other room to answer the phone. Now I'm just sitting here waiting. Typing about it is therapeutic.

I wonder if we'll even have this meeting today. I think we will. I wonder how much work I'll get out of this. Looking over my old hour records of the contract work I did for Tom this past winter (after I was laid off) I was surprised to read that he had paid me $25 an hour. Thinking back to the office days, I was making significantly less than that, but then again, when one gets paid a salary, one doesn't necessarily put in 40 hours of useful work in a week. They are more or less paying you for your continual availability and singleness of purpose. If I could get enough contract work to stay busy all week every week then I could definitely sit tight here and just do programming for whoever, wherever.

That would be nice. I could fill in extra hours with my own projects and it would be fine.

Oh.. Tom is msging me. Ta ta.

ps gotta love Tom: "whatus your phine #" He's funny :) He knows what's important, though, and doesn't care about typos since it would just waste time to correct them when the communication is successful anyway. also ps, he is just warning me that he will warn me before calling, and he had to ask for my number. I was stingy about giving it out before, but now he knows I'm desperate cause I handed it out as soon as he asked. Heh.

Is this a diary entry? Oh yeah baby.. it's all good. This will be a good reminder of what it was like to work with Tom, and maybe a quirky look back at how my long long long vacation ended. Or is it just beginning? Tune in next time...

previous - next