leave a note____
_newest entry___
__entry index___
___diaryland___

2004-03-19 - 12:08 p.m.

It wouldn't be correct to say that I haven't worked today. I was up at 8, at which point I assiduously worked at: personal hygiene (shower), nutrition management (breakfast) and finally 3 hours of political education.

At the end of my latest Maclean's, I felt compelled to visit www.macleans.ca/paulwells to read more from this witty, acerbic political commentator. An hour later, I am wondering why I've been so lax in finding out more about Canadian politics till now. I think I'm just finally old enough to care. Anyway, my ignorance about Paul Martin's flaws and inadequacy as a leader was short-lived.

The scariest thing? Although the Liberals appear to be slipping to a minority government, the next most popular party is the Conservative Alliance. No thanks, I don't want to go down the road that's led the US to adopt crazy right-winged "church prisons" where public funding is used to give criminals an easier out, as long as they're willing to go along with the state religion. I also don't want my country run by anyone who would be so uneducated as to hold the opinion that the Earth is 4,000 years old. These people scare me.

Hopefully my NDP vote will make a slight difference, maybe help them inch up to 18% :) I could probably make a much bigger difference by spreading the word about the Liberals to some people I know who are still in "go with the flow" mode.

I dunno, I'll probably forget all about this in a few weeks (minutes?).

And now, time for some constructive brain-bending. My (currently only) funded programming project isn't going to complete itself.

ps I had the strangest thought today, that I should ponder the feasibility of adding "earn $1,000,000 dollars" to my list of life goals. Something to think about, anyway.

previous - next