leave a note____
_newest entry___
__entry index___
___diaryland___

2002-12-22 - 10:07 p.m.

Dear Diary,

Well, day one at the new home has come and gone. It was a total blast, of course :o) I spent most of the day playing with my brother and sister, and the balance of the time unpacking the car and the boxes once I got them inside. I'm nowhere near settled in yet and actually have almost no idea what to unpack and what to leave as is. I also don't know how long I'm staying. Weird.

I'm quite tired today. I slept extremely well last night... the bed was super comfy. Although much harder than I'm used to, it is also much flatter and my back loves it :o) I went to bed kind of late but still woke up at 8 without an alarm. I was surprised to be up before the rest of the family considering there is a 5 year old in the house, but then again, they were all up late with us the night before.

Speaking of the 5 year old, Tristan is turning out to be just like I was when I was young. Mostly endearing but a real pain in the neck. So far we are definitely not getting along as well as I hope we will. I don't like people who lack respect for others and he doesn't like not getting away with things. Having said that, I'm really glad to be living in the same house with my brother and to be able to get to know him :o) He's got a bright future ahead of him. Hopefully I'll be able to help out a bit in shaping his personality.

Amanda is a whole other kettle of fish. Talented, beautiful, (well, she *is* my sister :o) she has totally impressed me. She is quite the graceful person, and I mean that in more than just the physical grace kind of way. She's very civil, kind, bright and interested in a lot of things. She's a super cool 8 year old :o)

And to top off all the fun experiences of hanging out with my family, it's the Christmas season! I have my secret stash of unwrapped gifts just waiting for me to get off my lazy ass and wrap them. I just can NOT wait to give my mom her gift :o) Hee hee! I have to admit it's half a gift to myself since I'm sure I'll get a lot of use out of it. I say that but I hardly used Michelle's after I bought it for her. Then again it was only around for a month and a half.

Which brings me to how long I'll be here. Amanda said something about how I'd be able to use something in the house here for a few months so I get the impression that's what my parents said when the kids asked how long I'd be staying. (My mind is devious like that, I can't not think these kinds of logic chain thoughts) However, I also think that my parents would tell the kids a short amount of time to reduce their expectation in case I do decide to leave relatively early. Even if I can find a job in short order I don't know how long it'll be before I'll be able to afford an apartment, furniture for the apartment, etc. I still have to pay off $3,000 in debt and then crank my savings account up to at least $5,000 before I'll consider leaving. I expect to be here about a year but we'll see. I'm not exactly stressing about it :o)

Ok, that's about it for this entry. Tomorrow I've really got to do it in the morning and get back on track. It'll be easier once I get my computer set up. I wonder if I'll be able to get back into a steady routine with all the turbulance of an active family surrounding me. It's a good test considering I need to make sure that the calm I built up during the last 3 months can withstand me being exposed to a chaotic environment. I want to be able to be a healthy, functional person and still live with people... that's kind of important when you want to have a family :o)

Speaking of which I really wish I had a girlfriend heh heh. I'm sure I'll make a lot of friends relatively quickly. I'm not going to be the hermit I was in Thunder Bay. I also need to get in gear and call the GSO in the area to get a handle on which meetings I'll be attending. That will be one surefire way of making some friends. I also need to look up a badminton club and get signed up asap. The new year is going to rock! :o) Ok.. that's enough. I need sleep. Good night.

previous - next