leave a note____
_newest entry___
__entry index___
___diaryland___

2003-01-28 - 9:32 p.m.

I can only think that I'm losing it.

Barely getting out of bed at 12:00 is not the way I'm going to accomplish the goals that I've set for myself lately.

Considering the fact that I completely forgot to write diary entries for the last two days in a row, I should be very worried about my recent change of habits.

It's mostly due to the computer. I have always had to fight the desire to stay up late sitting at this desk. The activities change, but the fact that I'm sitting in front of a monitor, interfacing with a machine stays the same.


Anyway, enough introspection, I have some cool news :o) Yesterday I attended my first Celtic dance class and I have to say that it was probably the best possible thing I could have chosen to do in order to meet attractive girls :o) Ding! Hehehe.

The instructor, Amanda, is quite charming and I sensed a little chemistry going on. Maybe it was the fact that we were looking at each other for half the class. There is another girl in the class that got my attention, and her name is Jeanette. She definitely had the most outgoing personality and it should be interesting to see if we become friends.

I'm hoping to become friends with at 3 or 4 people in the class. Niki and I were talking about it and agreed that we should invite everyone to go out for coffee after the next class so we can start to socialize. We (Niki and I) both could use more people to hang out with. Everyone at the class is so friendly and the atmosphere is so relaxed that I'm sure quite a few if not all of them will go, time permitting.

The only downside to all this is that these girls are all in university and so are quite young, between 20 and 24. I definitely don't want to get too interested in someone who's too young for me. I know how that works out in the end. Well.. maybe not the end because in 20 years it won't matter as much if my spouse is 5 years younger than me. But still.. I'm wary.

Oh yeah! I have to go clear out my stupid overflowing-with-spam Hotmail account. I forgot a few times already. It's almost guaranteed to be too late, but a girl maybe have been emailing me there...

Ok.. done. I hate having to use Hotmail. I'll have to do something about that.

Anyway, there's another amazing thing that happened in my life lately. When I went to the campus rec office to sign up for the celtic dance class, the girl behind the counter offered to give me her email. I was chatting about a joke email I had gotten called "sign language for drunk people" and she said "I wouldn't mind getting that". I just froze and didn't say anything, and kept filling out the form for the dance class. After the fact I realised what had happened but it was too late for me to say anything (or so I thought).

When I handed the form to her, I mentioned that my email was on it and that she could get that forward from me if she wanted. I don't know if she decided to try emailing or not, but even if she did, my account was too full, of course :o|

Oh, anyway, today I had my first watercolour class. I wasn't sure what to expect and at first everyone there was old ;o) but some attractive women did show up and I'm one of only 2 men in the class. The other one is sixty or so ;o) Anyway, the painting was a lot of fun and I'm not sure if I'll make any friends through the class or not, cause I'm kind of approaching it more as a serious subject. It remains to be seen ... ooooh.

Ok, enough.

I've spent most of the last few days trying to set up either the mail server or my development environment and I haven't succeeded at either, although I've learned an awful lot about Linux in the process. I just need to stick it out and eventually things will work. It ain't easy, though! I'm actually quite surprised at how difficult it is to do something as simple as compile a sample OpenGL program.

My goal is to write an entry tomorrow. Must do this. I also should make it to bed on time tonight. It'll be a well needed start.

ps. it wasn't as bad as I thought. I actually had written an entry for the 26th, I just forgot to post it. So I really only missed 1 day. And that is even sort of excusable since I woke up very late then got a surprise call from Niki around 3 and spent the rest of the day till 10pm in Windsor. Life goes on ;o)

previous - next