leave a note____
_newest entry___
__entry index___
___diaryland___

2003-01-29 - 9:41 a.m.

Wow! It's only 9:30 and I'm out of bed and fed already :o) Wtg, me.

I hurt my gum with a raisin bran flake :o(

Today I'd like to get a sample OpenGL app running. I think I need to coordinate the installation of the nVidia driver with the installation of Mesa, and I may need to use a back version of Mesa as well. I think I also need to compile the nVidia driver instead of using the RPM.

One thing I'm not sure about in linux is how to undo installations. I know I can remove RPMs but when you compile something yourself, it just creates files and directories without keeping track of the actions performed. I think. That should make it extremely easy to remove anything I've compiled myself, but then again I don't know if changes were made to any configuration files. The worst thing that'll happen is that I'll have to reinstall :o)

I can't remember how many times I had to install windows to learn how it worked. Some times it seems that's the only way you learn about operating systems... through some twisted sort of osmosis driven by continual exposure to the same procedures and screens over and over.

Another goal I have in mind is to install the Wine libraries (I think that's what they're called) that allowed win32 games to run under linux. Something like Half-Life would be cool to play in linux :o) Or CMR2. Speaking of which, CMR3 is out and I haven't even tried the demo. I'd have to fix my steering wheel first.

And lastly, I'd like to re-re-reinstall the box that is going to be the mailserver. I think I'll have better luck if I go with RH8 but make sure to install all the kernel sources and development stuff. This time I'm going to use expert mode installation so I can pick specific packages. The "custom" mode doesn't give me enough granularity.

The last time I installed, I tried my best to pick a minimal complement of software but still ended up with a laundry list of 10 or 20MB packages that were things I thought I'd specifically removed, like printer support and graphics tools and libraries. So, I should do that now. Yes, considering my CD-ROM is still in that beast and it'll take a good chunk of the morning to get the install done.

I'm going to have a swimmingly fun afternoon ;o)

previous - next