leave a note____
_newest entry___
__entry index___
___diaryland___

2002-10-09 - 7:40 a.m.

I'm tired this morning. And kind of in a daze. I don't know why, but I had to fight to get out of bed. "Dilligence" saved the day again :o)

Yesterday, three of my coworkers were laid off. That leaves two of us. I don't expect to have my job here much longer and that means I have some work to do in my personal life. I have to notify my landlady that I might be moving soon. I have to ask my boss to tell me when he expects to lay me off if we don't get any customers buying our product, so I can tell my landlady when I'll be moving. I have to change my personal finance plan so more money goes into the bank and less does directly onto the visa account. I have to pay for only the first half of the year for my badminton membership instead of the whole year, just in case. I have to look into selling my bed and generally find out how much stuff I could fit in the car if I had to move down soon. I have a huge pile of boxes in storage.. hmmm. I'd have to find out what I would bring and what I would leave if I had to move soon. It sure wouldn't be worth it to make two trips, and I do have a lot of stuff. Oh well, at least I have experience packing small cars to the roof :o)

Man, I'm just zoned this morning. I got home at 10:30 and was showered and in bed by 11:00 so although I wasn't really behind schedule, my schedule just doesn't accomodate my sleep requirements hehe. I really do need to be in bed by 10:00 if I want to feel awake in the mornings.

Yesterday I checked the weather forecast and it said less than 1 millimeter of rain, so I decided to bike to the office. Did I ever pay for that mistake! Either the forecast was wrong, or 1 millimeter of rain is a lot. The sad thing is I thought about turning around just after I headed out, but I decided against it because the rain wasn't very heavy at all. That didn't last. So I was soaked once I got to the office (well, not soaked, but fairly wet) and.. well, duh, next time no biky in the rain.

On a work related note, I finished that bilinear interpolation algorithm yesterday. It doesn't work though. At least, I'm not sure exactly what's screwed up but the graphics look extremely funky. I think it has to do with the functions I'm using to get and set the bits in the bitmap. We'll see today. I feel like I'm really pressed for time because the stupid thing isn't done and we really need the product finished so we can try to sell it. The pressure's all on me and I don't have days to waste with stupid bitmap manipulation routines.

The other bad thing about the bilinear algorithm is how slow it is. It takes a few seconds to convert the graphics where before they just loaded right in. Oh well, such is the price we pay for a smaller size.

Work went really fast yesterday and I expect the same will happen today. At least it'll be easier to be extra dilligent at the office. I already was being very good but I believe I'll be even more focused in the coming days.

I've come to the conclusion that I like spelling it "focused" rather than "focussed".. Actually, I think it's only "focusing" that has the optional spelling. Bah.

The bike ride home from work was uneventful. No rain! Yeah. I was in a hurry so I could call computer places about prices and return policies for Ardie's memory upgrade. The prices and return policies turned out to be great, especially at my favourite computer store, which had the lowest price and the most knowledgable salesperson. The bad news is that Ardie's motherboard is likely going to require a specific chip that needs to be order directly from Dell. I'll try it, anyway, we'll see if some Kingston ram won't work in that thing. I'm hopeful but not .. expectful? heh

After that I chatted with my mom online. I told her the news about my company and how I might be moving down sooner. She was quite excited and to be honest so am I :o) The only thing keeping me in Thunder Bay is the company really. If that goes, then I'll be on my way. She's taking the kids to some museum in Detroit today so of course I'm jealous. I think it'll be a blast to be around my brother and sister again. We talked about how I could help out with the homeschooling.

Ooh! I just thought of something. Sarah lives in North Bay and that's pretty nearly halfway from my place to my parent's. It would be cool if I could stay there overnight to make my trip down there easier. I wouldn't exactly be in a hurry and it would be cool to stick to Canada on the way down this time. I wonder when I'll get a chance to talk to her again. I guess I'll email her too, just in case I don't see her online any time soon. I do have her address so I should go ahead and mail her a modem post haste. I need to make a list right now so I don't forget all these things.


Alright. I feel better already :o) All the work still has to be done, but hey, I'll be ok.

After the chat with my mom, I headed out to badminton. I had a blast last night, especially because I got to play two top-notch games right at the end. It felt good to be out there on the court and realize that I was one of the best players in the club. I feel like I've really improved this year. I really want a lighter racquet too, but that'll have to wait.

After badminton was a quick shower, some AA reading and then bed. I fell asleep quickly and slept well, although I would have liked to stay in bed a little while longer. I just can't justify changing my wake up time to 7:30 am though. I mean, that would be 7 minutes ago and I would get to sit down at the computer until 23 minutes from now. I'm barely going to have time to make breakfast, eat it, clean up, make lunch, and then drive to work. I can't imagine doing all that if I wasn't even going to be done my entry for at least another 45 minutes.

No, the morning routine is just right the way it is now. I can't ask for anything more fitting to myself. I know it's only so easy because I'm on my own. It would be extremely hard to keep things organized if Kris were still in my life, because children are completely unpredictable. A joy and a curse :oP hehehe. I'd take that curse any day.

That's a wrap for today. Feels like a weak entry but I'm weak minded and need to get on with my morning.

Au revoir.

previous - next