leave a note____
_newest entry___
__entry index___
___diaryland___

2002-10-17 - 7:55 a.m.

Kind of a weird morning today. Instead of writing my entry right away, I cooked some eggs and had breakfast. I didn't really plan it that way, it just seemed natural to make breakfast cause I was hungry and when I stopped to think about it, I couldn't think of a reason why not to. It's only weird because I haven't done it before and I usually like to stick to routine, and yet when I did something different than my routine, I didn't really care.

So.. diary entry... well, I'm not as tired this morning as I was yesterday, so that's a plus. I got lights out by 10:30 last night for the first time this week. Yay! I've been good for getting up at 6:30 regardless, which is a good thing. No matter how tired I've been, when the alarm goes off I'm up and whipping the covers off right away without delay. It's the first moment's delay that nails me. And if I have to work that day, I can't delay at all or I risk sleeping in.

Yehaw, what a thrilling topic. Oh well, it's my life and the little things count in a way.

Speaking of little things, I went on a bit of a rant about my roommate last night. Stu came over for a final visit before leaving for Sarnia on Saturday, and at one point I started bitching about Mark. My biggest beef was that he ate most of my pepperoni. It doesn't sound like a big deal but there isn't a lot of food in the house and I'm trying to live off what is here rather than go buy anything, and one pepperoni is enough to last me over a week in making pita pizzas. Mark however ate half of the pepperoni I defrosted the day before yesterday. He also ate over half of the one that I had in there before (they come in packs of two). Now I know this sounds really childish, and it is kind of inconsequential in itself, but my reasons for being upset are the surrounding circumstances. I wouldn't really care if he ate my pepperoni if he ever gave me money for the groceries I bought. I wouldn't care if I had the feeling he was going to buy some to replace what he ate. I wouldn't care if I figured he'd leave me some for my suppers since there are obviously pitas in the fridge. No, I know he'd just eat the last of it and leave it at that, and that's what makes me mad. It's a lack of respect.

When he moved in, we talked about grocery arrangements and I said I preferred to share groceries and split the bill. That was a month and a half ago and since then he's given me $15 towards groceries. I've kept track all my expenditures so I know I've spent at least $150 on groceries since then. In that time, he's bought about 2 loaves of bread and a dozen eggs that we shared, and hot dogs and french fries that he ate himself. I just stopped buying food when we ran out of some things he was "sharing", like orange juice. And now pepperoni.. anyway I put the last of it on top of the bag of pitas as a hint.

The next time I talk to him I'm going to tell him that I'm done with the grocery "sharing" concept and I want to split the fridge. He can have the door, a shelf and a crisper and I'll have two shelves and the other crisper. End of story.


I some ways I feel I failed to accept Mark's quirks and that I haven't done a good enough job. On the other hand, I feel he's had a lack of respect for me and that he hasn't followed up on what he said he'd do. At some point you just have to step in and change the arrangement. I don't think the thing I talked about is the kind of thing one just has to grin and bear, the reasoning being that it's something I have control over. I think the acceptance chapter should be amended to state "acceptance over things in which we have no control". I think if you have control over something and you leave it in a stressful state and just try to accept it that you aren't really doing yourself a favour.

End of story... really.. come on.. move on...


So.. yesterday.. I drove to work and back. At least I had the excuse of having to return the memory chip. I traded it in for (hopefully) the right kind, so I'll get to try that out this coming... shit.. Thursday? Wednesday? I think Thursday. I'll have to get in touch with Ardie before then. Something tells me this one will work so I'll finally get a bit o' cash out of the dealio, julio. This is going to be the last job I do I believe because it's not worth the time it takes. It was good when I was completely strapped for cash and an extra $20 meant a lot in terms of food for a week but now I have enough to get by and I need the time more than I need the money.

Work went well again. I was able to figure out what was wrong with the dialog box that wouldn't behave. I think there's still a weird bug when you double-click the systray icon, but that will be fixed eventually. Oh yeah, I'm just remembering that when we tested, the thing didn't work.. it didn't download the file it was supposed to. The log revealed that the code was downloading the playlist file over and over and so I embarked on a 45 minute long debugging journey, hunting through the code, only to find out that the playlist file has a typo in it. :o| Annnnyway, not only that but I didn't have access to change the file so that was it for the day.

Today I get to flesh out the update summary dialog with a record of files that have been downloaded, including their date and size, and also a progress display of the currently downloading file. I can see it now and I know that none of the stuff is rocket science so we're very close to having everything we need for this demo. Excellent! I hope these people are interested enough to hire us on. Maybe they have money.. who knows? People who make electronic sensor devices have to be doing well in the current US economy. Tom's a smart guy.. hehe.

Other than work, all I did was hang out with Stuart. I brought home the test machine with the nVidia card in it so we could play together against DoD bots. We also gave Counter-Strike a whirl but man that POD bot sucks. I always thought so too but now that I have that Sturmbot to compare it against I see how crappy it really is. I wish I had been in control of my life at the time I got really interested in making a Counter-Strike bot. I still have time, mind you, but I don't know if I ever will now. The game is getting a little long in the tooth, and I have a lot of programming projects in mind. We'll see.

So that's it for my entry. I have to do dishes and high-tail it to the office for some summary dialog box bliss. I bought bagels and fudgee-o cookies yesterday so I get to snack out on programmer food while I think. :o)

Ta ta.

previous - next