leave a note____
_newest entry___
__entry index___
___diaryland___

2002-10-16 - 7:30 a.m.

Ok, I'm ready to start the morning now. I'm pretty tired since I got to sleep about 11:15 or so and I already had a deficit of four hours sleep from the night before. I just finished reviewing my finances and deciding to put down $1,000 on my Visa this coming paycheque and hope my job holds out at least another two weeks.

Yesterday was a good day all around. I had a good day at the office. I started out by getting to work on the few bugs and todos remaining on the Charlton beta, and halfway through the day Tom called us about a new prospect, Banner Engineering. Apparently they are interested in sending down automatic updates to clients, and possibly training videos to their salespeople. So Dan and I made up a plan of what the easiest way was to change the existing Charlton beta to just download zip files and not have any graphics or video playing capability, and spent the rest of the afternoon executing it. I was surprised how easy it was (although it still hasn't tested all the way through, so we'll see) but I was able to get the installer and app conversion done in a few hours.

We're really going to try to impress these people, so we've taken the logo from their web page and added some graphics to the installer and the registration dialog. I'm also going to whip up a status summary page that shows all the files that have been downloaded by the app and hopefully the percentage complete of the current file. Considering I've never used list boxes, maybe I should just switch to a text entry field instead. I don't know.. we'll see how easy it turns out to be to get list boxes running. The dialog box was behaving super weird so I'll have to look into that InitCommonControlsEx() function.

So yeah work went well. And fast. That was good.

Afterwards I drove straight to Ardie's and found out right away that the memory I bought wasn't going to work. But then upon reading his manual, I found out that the memory has to be specifically 100Mhz, and the chip I had bought was 133. I'm positive the chip he already has is 133.. I wrote down all the specs for it the first time around and that's why I thought my memory would work. But anyway, I'm fairly confident that if I get a 100Mhz Kingston chip that it will be compatible with his motherboard. So today I'm going to return the old memory chip and swap it for the new one.

After that, I called Tanis about going to the symphony on Thursday and she agreed. I'm so excited to go! It's a fairly large expense considering my budget, but I wouldn't forgive myself if I didn't go. Experiencing a symphony is so much more meaningful than playing pool or whatnot. So anyway, Jamie and I, Dan and his girlfriend, and Tanis are going to go to the symphony tomorrow. Tomorrow! Oooh! I'm excited.

I'm trying not to think of it as a date. Really.

And then there was badminton. And Carl decided that badminton was good. Actually I decided to eat a second pita pizza just before leaving so I was a little late, I had juice from the hot peppers on my fingers when I put my contacts in, and I had a full stomach during the first few games. Regardless, I had some intense games and thoroughly enjoyed myself. I don't know if it's just me but the general level of play at the club seems to have increased. I think it's just me.

After badminton, I figured I had just enough time to get the lights out by 10:30. I had a few things to clean up at the end of the day however.. I had brought home the speaker system I was using at the office and had to put that in my room, and I had a few other things to put away. I also had a shower. I realized I also had the AA big book reading to do and so I wasn't going to make it for the 10:30 cutoff. After my shower it was already 10:50. I did however manage to get lights out by 11:00 so I'm not too far off base. And another highlight, it was worth it to set the speakers up because I fell asleep during the second last song. I remember it starting, but I don't remember anything else. That's exactly what I need so noises from other apartments don't keep me up any more.

Wow.. I guess not a lot happened yesterday. Oh. I watched a new Family Guy while I was eating supper. It was pretty good. One part, however, kind of made me sad. Peter comes home from a fishing trip and he just trashes the house and doesn't want to help Lois with the evening chores. They set it up perfectly, showing Lois struggling through the day and still keeping a smiling face for Peter when he gets home, and then he just totally disregards her. Not only that but he's extremely selfish. That reminded me exactly of how I used to act with Michelle. I may not have been so over the top, but if you uncompress all the shitty things Peter did in one night, it would be enough to fill a week of the old life I lived here. It's taken me so long to see it, too. I can just be thankful that I at least do see it.


I'm considering biking this morning... it says -3C on the weather network and there's just a hint of dawn in the sky at 7:30. When I thought about it earlier I figured I'd bike if there wasn't any rain and it looks clear so I'm going to go ahead. Time to crack out the long johns :o)

I need to eat.

Au revoir.

ps I almost didn't write that this time. Funny how fast I get sick of repeating things.

previous - next