leave a note____
_newest entry___
__entry index___
___diaryland___

2003-02-03 - 9:34 a.m.

Hola

I'm up early today. I woke up abruptly at 6:30 to some slight noises from upstairs. By 7:30 I'd given up on the idea of falling back asleep, which is unusual for me since I usually have a limitless tolerance for laying uselessly in bed in the morning, sleeping or not.

So, here I am, fed and ready to embark on a world of discovering the joys of OpenGL programming :o)

It's Monday and that means I get to go to my Celtic dance class tonight! Woo! Girls... Mmmmm. hehehehe. I've been looking forward to this class since last week when the instructor, Amanda, and I kept exchanging glances. I'm quite excited at the prospect of making some friends, especially of the female variety. God I'm so pathetic. Sigh.

So.. what else is new.. hmm yesterday I read up on the latest news with regards to my Natural Selection clan. I'd been away for so long that there were hundreds of messages to read and I got the feeling that not a lot of things have changed, which is good. I did find out about a ranking system that actually has a stat for me, and not only that but a graph of my progress up the ranks (for all 7 hours that I've played with the nick "[OldF]* Execution Style". I love those kinds of rankings because they give me a greater goal to keep me going back to the game.

Anyway, after reading I was all hot to play more in the coming days and I even set about trying to get Half-Life to run under Linux. This is not supposed to be a very hard thing, and I was able to get almost all the way there, which is quite the achievement considering two weeks ago I didn't know how to install an RPM never mind all the little tidbits of knowledge that saw me through the ordeal. I got as far as installing Half-Life, patching it and installing Natural Selection. I even entered my Half-Life CD when the program first started, but then it froze at the main menu and I haven't moved past that point.

Anyway, I bet I can make it into the top 1,000 or so in Natural Selection. Who knows, maybe I'll end up being a professional cyber athlete. Muahahahahahaha! Not. Well, I did get to the top 50 on a very active CS server quite a while ago and I was headed upwards quickly when I suddenly stopped playing due to outside circumstances. I've never quite gotten my twitch back since then but I consider myself a good strategic player and a good team player as well. I can't wait to see what my future in NS brings.

Anyway, (why do I always want to start paragraphs with that? Looking back, that's the third one in a row.. sigh.), no playing games until I do some exercises with OpenGL points, lines, and &c. :oP And then.. and then!! Let the games begin.. muahahahaH!

yikes.

previous - next