leave a note____
_newest entry___
__entry index___
___diaryland___

2003-01-17 - 10:30 a.m.

I don't really know what to write.

Last night I had the hardest time falling asleep; a combination of too much green tea around lunchtime (yes, I'm overly sensitive to caffeine) and my dad exercising after he got home from work at 10:00. It sucks that he starts exercising, running on the treadmill, lifting weights, and then watches tv right outside my bedroom starting right at my bedtime. But then again, I'm living at my parent's house so what can I expect? hehe.

God I need a place of my own.. and a wife. Yesssss.... A wiiiiife. hhehehehehee.

Weird, it's to the point where I'm chatting with myself as a form of diary entry. Well, whatever. Each person has their own style of madness.


Last night I had those thought about the way I can accomplish anything during my lifetime if only I try. I had just finished reading a novel about some guy's childhood and vaguely who he became. It was a strange novel since it would be more accurately classed as an unfinished manuscript. Anyway, it made me think of the big picture of my life again.

I think what I need is a place reserved for my work. The work, as it were, which at the moment is my big plan for a new way to program, and later on will be my big plan to make computers alive. Hey, at least I know what I want to do with my life.

So anyway, I need a place. And once I have this place, I need time. Time is something I will create myself because I don't mean time in the sense of what tracks each of us through our day, but rather time as a resource in the sense that I spent x hours of my time on y project.

I've been doing some time tracking lately, both out of curiosity and out of a need to feel as if I'm accomplishing something with my days. Yesterday's entry reads

1.0 guitar

1.5 work

0.5 art

Those are the categories I'm tracking so far. Oh, I'm also tracking "programming" but I've unfortunately not logged any time in that category since I started this little experiment on Jan 5th. I had made myself a little project plan for a small programming task that was to be finished by Jan 7th, but when I actually sat down to start that, I was so revolted at the methods I was forced to use to write my program that I gave up in disgust with the intention of starting on my other project.

I have actually made quite a few large strides in that direction, namely installing linux, familiarizing myself with it and doing some exploratory tasks in it to help learn it.

A day or two ago I was thinking to myself that I should write a hello world program and compile it with gcc to get started. That's all it takes to make a beginning. Before you know it, I'll have the first few modules written with SQL and socket support and then I'll be laughing :o) It needs lots of design time, though, which implies my place. Where shall this place be? Maybe a studio apartment that I can aim to have by summer time or something. I need goals.

I also need to write to my friends. Ack! So many things I expect of myself but when am I doing the scheduling work? This Sunday I should go back to my roots and have a self day where I review and plan and make goals. That was working really well, mind you away from the distractions of a living breathing household full of interruptions.

This entry is getting long.

Not that that's a problem, just that it's almost 10:30 and the goal was to have myself fed and my entry written by 10:00. S'ok, I'll just make wiser use of the rest of my time. I'm off to say hello to some new worlds :o) Wish me luck everyone, it's in your best interests since I'm on your side, and this is in many ways a race to see if the good guys finish first.

A la prochaine.

previous - next