leave a note____
_newest entry___
__entry index___
___diaryland___

2003-07-07 - 9:39 p.m.

<&bsp><&bsp><&bsp><&bsp> you hardly knew what you were capable of

<&bsp><&bsp><&bsp><&bsp> doing.

<&bsp><&bsp><&bsp><&bsp> Why don't you give it a try?


<&bsp><&bsp><&bsp><&bsp><&bsp><&bsp><&bsp><&bsp> - The Gathering



Honestly, you have to hear her sing it. "You learn about it", off their latest CD Souvenirs is the consummation of what I expected from them as a band when I first heard them play. I knew something like this was on the way when I was enticed by the percussion on "My Electricity" and especially when I was swept away in angel's arms when Anneke's voice crooned to my baby self on "Morphia's Waltz". It all comes together for them in this song, not a moment flows by without you knowing they are sure of exactly what note should come next, and it always does.

Unfortunately, on this album there is a proportion of songs that I want to skip which hasn't happened since their early stuff like the "Nighttime birds" or "Mandylion" CDs. There are definitely enough good songs that I don't feel like I wasted money on the CD, but I've found myself skipping around a bit looking for a better song while driving somewhere. Admittedly, I've played the CD a dozen times in the past few weeks so that partly explains it too.

There, that was an unbiased review of The Gathering's new CD. If you like your music mellow and different from the usual top 40 stuff, then give these guys a try.


Just now when I came in and started untying my shoes, my little brother started bolting up the stairs. I put my hand on the ballustrade because I knew that when I flew by me on the landing, he would fit right under my arm without having to duck. It made a moment for me to remember, something I feel like I'm finding more and better of these past few months than I have in a long time.

As The Gathering would say, "agree with your youth". That fits exactly for me right now.

previous - next