leave a note____
_newest entry___
__entry index___
___diaryland___

2003-05-02 - 1:31 a.m.

Today I just had to turn on the computer again, even though it's after 1 in the morning, because I couldn't go two days without writing an entry. That would just be bad.

I've hardly used the computer for the last two days, which is a welcome change. Oh, and on the welcome change front, I got some things accomplished today :oD Things like solving my car insurance woes (and incidentally getting a lower rate than I was paying before.. try $66 a month on for size... yeah.. I know.. go me!) and also I received my T4 today and did my taxes. I'm getting $394 back so I'm pretty excited, and things went my way for a change!

But the best thing that happened to me today is staring up at me in red and yellow splendour. I have, addressed to moi, a simple and meaningful letter from a dear friend. With a wonderfully bright yellow envelope, it cleared the mists of my day and cheered me right up as I sat waiting for an hour to see my new insurance broker. This short but delectable note came my way at just the right time and tipped the cosmic balance in my favour or something.. how else to explain the cheap insurance and the tax refund? I mean really.. Thanks so much Shawna!

And lest I leave with the impression that my day was only partly fantastic, I have to mention my latest and second most prized possession (after my funky yellow and red envelope with its heart warming note). Today I went out and took the plunge, buying a "Line 6 POD 2.0" What is it, you ask? It is a guitar effects thingy. It basically simulates a bunch of classic (extremely expensive) guitar amps and speakers. So, instead of going out and spending $5,000 on a Marshall JTM 45 amp and a 4 X 12 cabinet of speakers, I just flip a switch on this shiny red box and I get basically the same sound out of my headphones. Not like I'm an expert or anything, but after fooling around with this thing for only a few hours I'm totally impressed and pleased with the results. It was pretty pricey, $365, but to be honest all these guitar equipment things are. The cheapest amp I was considering buying was $200 and a distortion pedal is $100 so for a little more I got practially endless variability of sound and in a package that I can play and enjoy without disturbing family, friends and neighbors.

The downside is I believe I have to return it. To exchange for another one, that is. I bought it used to save a few bucks but this one is a bit glitchy so I'll confirm that it flakes out predictably, demonstrate that to a salesperson, and exchange it on day 1 of the 90 day warranty, which is tomorrow.

If there's anything more I expect out of myself in the coming few days, it's to get my ass in gear and set up the firewall and Apache server on the brennanfamily website machine that I have running in the laundry room. It's a project that's been lingering for a while and almost forgotten (well.. come on.. yeah.. I forgot.. :oP).

So. Good day. I'm a rock star. I have great friends. What the hell do I have to complain about?

Well.. I do have a problem. I have to somehow convince myself to go to sleep instead of playing my guitar all night :o) I wanna be a rock star. Dreams of rock stardom to follow...

previous - next