leave a note____
_newest entry___
__entry index___
___diaryland___

2003-05-20 - 6:47 p.m.

Don't you think technology has advanced enough that televisions should automatically mute themselves once they recognize a white noise signal coming in? Hmph.

Anyway, in other news, we are continuing to enjoy a rained-in day here in upper Quebec. After many days of continuously drenching sun showers, a little rain and wind has settled in to give us an excuse to play cards and watch tv. I'm having such a wonderful time here that it'll be very strange to be back home. Not that I don't like it at home, but I have to admit that I like the life here better. It seems like the worries about the future that I had have been put on hold and I don't have any tension at all to deal with. It's strange that at first I jokingly thought of this trip as a 'vacation', but in reality that's what it turned out to be.

I say I like the life here better here, What I mean is that spending time outside, visiting with relatives, travelling around doing social things, doing yard work, waking up early and going to bed early, hearing the grandfather clock gong the hours instead of seeking out a clock are all so much healthier and different than the things I was doing back home like playing video games, staying up late, sleeping in late, stuffing my face with snacks and otherwise spending time alone seeking things to make me happy. I'm sure there's a lesson to be brought back with me.. hmm.

Tomorrow is wednesday. I know we're going into town for some reason and we'll be stopping by a relative's so I can have a look at their computer. It'll be the second last day that I'm here. I was thinking yesterday that after waiting endlessly for the sun to come, it seems like it's been here forever and it could never last long enough. I can't explain the joy I had in knowing it was too hot to sit outside and having to come in to take refuge in the basement where it was cooler. I think the joy is sweeter for knowing that it won't last. Maybe that's why this trip is so enjoyable.. who knows? Back home, I should start thinking about how soon september is coming so I'll enjoy the rest of my time there more.

I wonder what kind of job I'll find. I need to brush up my resume when I get home.. or .. um.. write one from scratch since I couldn't find my last one :( and anyway apply to a bunch of companies from my buddy's list of 100 software companies in Ottawa. Then will follow a hopefully busy period of phone calls, emails, and planning as I banter with several small business executives and sell my skills to a lucky candidate, securing myself gainful employment in the town of my future. I wonder if I would put down roots there for good or plan to stay until I've made my fortune and then head back to Thunder Bay or Elliot Lake. I'm amazed at how much I miss Thunder Bay. I was thinking of how many people I know there... not just friends that I have (and ex-friends, I suppose) but also all the people I knew during my years at school and living in the area that I might bump into at any time, that make the town seem smaller and more inviting. Who knows what will happen? It's the future.. you tell me, future self.

previous - next