leave a note____
_newest entry___
__entry index___
___diaryland___

2004-01-03 - 12:05 p.m.

Well, so much for my new year's resolution.

Ok, I just made another one. I'm not sure which is tougher, the one I failed or the one I just came up with. I'm sure the one I came up with is the better of the two, though. The best for me. Good luck, future self!


I really shouldn't write for long. I just wrapped up two online conversations so I could get to work. I need to have the work done in time to drive the boys to Millie's for the evening. Oh well, it's not that pressing yet.

Still, I should write a little. Like, for instance, about how crappy my monitor is. I don't think I've really said much about it, but since I've brought it to the apartment it's been really annoying. What happens is that some connection on the circuit board is faulty, and if the thing moves or wiggles or gets bumped or anything, the red component of the signal from the computer gets lost. So basically everything looks bluish green and anything that is just red disappears completely. I can get it to work again by lifting the bottom of the monitor or pulling downwards on the top, then slowly letting the thing go back to its original position. Sometimes I have to repeat the motion a dozen times. Whatever, it always works for a little while again.

The worst is that it isn't always on or off, sometimes it is flickering madly on and off as the connection is just on the edge of being lost, and it's bad enough to threaten me with an epileptic seizure. Gah. So right now it's lightly flickering between blue and white. Slowly getting worse, cause my typing is making the monitor wiggle. I've learned to be especially delicate with the keyboard and mouse. So yeah, anything from working to playing is likely to be interrupted by the stupid monitor freaking out. I've tried opening the case and having a look but I would have to really do some digging to get at the spot, I think. I couldn't even see the connections. There is a little silver metal casing around where the pins are connected to the board, and that casing is surrounded by other components that wouldn't just pop off. Sigh. Not to fear, I will get more work, make more money, and donate this thing to the antique scrap pile. Or keep it around as a backup, to be relegated to text-only displays on some back-room linux system. Yeah, that's what I'll do. Make it suffer on in endless agony so it can't... quite... die.. :D

Evil, I tell you. Pure evil.


So yeah, work would be good.

ps holy cow! I just ate the last of my mints. Amazing. The thing seemed full and just now I picked it up and wham! one left. Weird. Evil elves were in my apartment, eating my frisk mints. Bastards.

previous - next