leave a note____
_newest entry___
__entry index___
___diaryland___

2004-01-04 - 6:51 p.m.

What a shitty day. I was up most of the night with an awful stomach ache, the runs, and sour burps. Luckily I had the chance to sleep in (until 4pm) until I felt practically fine again. So now I'm sitting here dunking a peanut butter and jam sandwich into some chicken noodle soup. Soon it'll be cooled down enough to eat.

I'm listening to "The Summerlad". I can't imagine having a CD with me playing on it. I hadn't really listened to this CD directly at Jenn's house, it had been on in the background. The songs need some variety, but the band really does have a good sound. They're tight enough, but the best thing really is that they have that soupy Gathering kinda way of weaving their songs into a coherent whole. I'm really curious to hear what their newer stuff sounds like.

I feel like my guitar playing picked up a notch just recently. It often feels like that after long slumps of just playing what I already know. I'm sure it helps that I've had the chance to space out a little with my friend the herb :) Thanks, C. Just a roach to you, but 3 times stoned for little old Carl.

But the best gift from that night was a little insight into how you go from wanting to play with people to touring with a band. I really need to just get out there.


Ok, enough typing. I feel weak, not quite all there. All these short paragraphs. This soup will restore me though. And then a nice bowl or two of my favourite medicine :)


Ok, the music just changed to "the Jimi Hendrix experience". Time to go sit by the fire.

previous - next