leave a note____
_newest entry___
__entry index___
___diaryland___

2004-02-01 - 12:19 a.m.

:) I had a really fun night at Jenn's tonight. We all got invited over there and as usual everyone had a blast. One of my favourite things about going over to Jenn's is that the kids play amongst themselves all night, coming to us only when they need soothing or something to eat or drink. Everyone just has more fun that way because, face it, adults and kids can get along if the adults try hard enough, but too much time spent with someone much older or younger than you eventually leads to natural tension.

Another great thing is how well Jenn's kids are raised. It just shows in how well they all get along together and how they can basically be trusted to have kid fun but not do anything too stupid. That's the way I grew up and it's nice to see that it still happens that way in some places.

I'll just leave it at that. I'm tired and don't have much energy to relate the rest of the day. Oh.. but I do need to vent a bit about my car.

After giving me no trouble for years and years, suddenly both rear tires went flat and the battery "died". Today was the day I brought the tires in to get checked. I had steeled myself for the worst, expecting I might have to buy new tires because something was obviously wrong with the ones I had, since they both went flat in the cold weather. It turns out that it cost me $10 each to have the guy re-seal them. They had rusted a bit under the rims and that was causing them to leak.

The dead battery is another thing entirely. It turns out it wasn't completely dead, but rather the oil in the engine is thick enough to make it sluggish to start, and the battery didn't have enough juice. I still don't get it because I bought that battery about 4 years ago (true, getting somewhat near the end of its life) but it hasn't had any trouble at all cranking lately. I wonder if cold weather kills the charge at all? It's only when I realise stuff like the tires I bought for the car are 4 years old and the battery is 4 years old that I really realise how long I've had it. It's amazing.. time is going by so quickly.

So yeah, today started out as a real downer and ended up being quite a lot better than I'd feared. And to top it off, Jenn's place was a blast (and a total surprise too, by the way).

Time to wind down. I can't believe I'm considering playing a few rounds of Counter-Strike. I'm just so amazed by Joebot that I keep wanting to play. I should find out if that bot works with DoD too. Anyway, time to go.

previous - next