leave a note____
_newest entry___
__entry index___
___diaryland___

2004-05-04 - 12:56 p.m.

Well I'm here in Amherstburg now, visiting the family before moving on to Ottawa to watch Dennis and Gina tie the knot.

It was super fun to see my grandparents and everyone last night when I got here. It was Tristan's birthday.. he's 7 now.. and Amanda is 10! I was sure they were 6 and 9.

I'm trying to remember all the things I thought of writing during the trip down. I could probably write all day if I could remember it all, but that's the way it works when you have all day to sit there and think.

Last night I talked a lot with my grandfather.. it was really nice to catch up and to pick his brain on how to sell myself in the business world. I had been so unsure about how to go about being self-employed but he set me straight on some things, like how much I'm worth and how much I should be expecting to make. I'm now realizing that I should be making at least 3 times as much per hour as I'm charging, and that not only am I losing out because I'm not charging what I should be, I'm making myself seem like an amateur (well, giving the fact away I suppose) by charging such a low rate.

He made a good point that someone looking to hire a contractor isn't going to bother with someone who asks for a piddly wage. I know my stuff and I'm a great programmer so I am worth a ton of money and I need to act like it. I think the root of the problem is this continual self-image issue I have. I'm hoping to have a few more good talks with family while I'm here, namely my mom and maybe my stepdad if the opportunity arises.

Anyway, I'm too hot sitting in this stifling house. My body has definitely acclimated to the northern cool so I'm not used to how warm they like things here. And besides, it's fully spring here and so I have to go out and enjoy nature and *all* its greenery :P

ps I miss you Saara, Alex and Jake. Your names come up often, and I think of you a lot too.

previous - next