leave a note____
_newest entry___
__entry index___
___diaryland___

2002-11-03 - 8:16 a.m.

Dear Diary,

I've been ignoring you this morning, choosing instead to work at getting my Windows 2000 install to behave better. I shouldn't have installed the Creative Live Driver pack. I just need drivers for my sound blaster, not 10 megs of sound bank files loaded into my profile at startup. Everything was running smooth yesterday but I installed the live driver pack so the sound would start working (which it did, intermittently) and I also installed directX 8.1. Now every time it boots the CPU gets 60-70% usage for about 30 seconds after the OS has loaded. I wish I knew exactly what it was doing, but it's winlogon.exe and System.exe that are taking the cycles and who knows what other program is actually initiating the requests?

Bleah.


Snow! There's a tiny bit of snow on the ground outside, but it was enough to put a smile on my face. Just the fact that the ground looks a bit different... I thought of going up the hill to catch the sunrise but it's cloudy out today. That reminds me of the finished roll of file I have in my camera. Some time I'll have to bring it to Wal-Mart.

I have about 25 seconds left before SP2 finishes installing, and I know it'll want to reboot. I have a diary review to write today anyway (actually, two). I'm feeling negative about all the work I have to do today.

Sigh. Breakfast will help.

Later

previous - next