leave a note____
_newest entry___
__entry index___
___diaryland___

2002-11-08 - 9:10 a.m.

It's 8:57 so I can't write for long.

Mark came home last night around midnight really drunk. He called some people and harassed them for a while on the phone in the living room, then he stumbled into his room (gagged a few times, sounded like he was on the edge of puking) and banged around in there for a while. He called the same number and harassed the people again. "Is this 344-4477?" "what number is this?" ... "what number is this?" where some parts of the conversation that I remember. He was looking for some people and telling whoever he was talking to to ask around for the person or shout their name out. I was worried he was going to flip out because he was out of his mind and wasn't getting his way. He ended up just going to sleep after getting off the phone.

A few minutes later, his alarm starts goes off. He's passed out cold and the alarm keeps ringing. I'm asking myself how long before it shuts itself off. I knocked on the wall at one point and heard him mumble a bit but he didn't turn the alarm off. I even went so far as to grab my guitar and play in time with the alarm to calm myself down and wait it out. It wasn't stopping. So I got up, banged on his door and turned on the light in his room. He was all surprised and wondering what I wanted. I'm like.. duh.. the alarm. "Turn off your alarm, man". And he's like "alarm? There's an alarm.. hmm" and starts fumbling with the thing. He finally gets it quiet. I say "thank you" and slam his door.

Now I'm laying back in bed and pretty far from sleep. I've been thinking about how I should tell him I want him out. The first week of November has gone by and he hasn't talked to me about the rent at all, but he keeps coming home drunk. Anyway, his alarm goes off again. I guess he just hit snooze. I can hear him moving, I think, so I wait, but a few minutes go by and I get up again, bang on his door again and he's like "hello?" I open his door and say.. "Turn off your damn alarm" or some other witty semi-confrontational statement. To which he replies that he's trying to turn it off.. so I ask him if he wants the light on. I politely turn it on for him and wait. Now he examines the thing and spends his time because I'm asking him to make sure it's off this time.

When he does get it turned off finally (I hope), I say "Mark, you have some problems". To which he's all surprised. He's laying there in his bed, fully clothed, with an alarm going off for 10 minutes in an apartment that he's begged to live in, then offered and failed to pay rent to be allowed to stay in. For all I know, he was supposed to go to work last night. For all I know he dosen't have a job any more. I don't think he'd tell me if he lost his job. In fact, I think he's lied to me about a bunch of stuff and I can't trust the guy.

I know he has a big problem with honesty, if only with himself.

So.. I'm done with the arrangement. I really don't care if he finds a place or not, I want his ass out of here. And now it's time for me to scrounge up some breakfast and head to work.

Toodle-oo.

previous - next