leave a note____
_newest entry___
__entry index___
___diaryland___

2002-10-28 - 8:58 a.m.

Dear Diary,

Monday, Oct 28, 2002

This morning I've been day-dreaming about having completed the first step of my life's goal: a conscious computer. The step in question was a 'thinking' computer, one that could learn new things, remember things, and apply reason to its memories and knowledge. I'm not convinced that's the right first step, but it was nice to imagine.


Day two of writing my diary on paper and I'm liking it a lot more today. I have automatic things, having a love for hand-crafted, old-fashioned things, so there's an undeniable joy in expressing myself using just the basic pen and paper.

Plus there's the chaos and beauty of it... each letter is different, like a snowflake. And each letter has a definite shape. Some of them are elegant although generally I pooch them pretty bad. But it doesn't particularly matter because no one is going to read this page but me.


Yesterday I hung out with Tanis again. We got together to watch the second movie we rented and didn't have time to watch. That plan turned into an all-day plan that included driving around, doing laundry, watching the movie and eating snacks.

Speaking of snacks, I had a go at making Tanis' Million Dollar Cookies and failed miserably. My cookies turned out good & tasty but no where near as good as hers. It turns out she uses baking soda and I used baking powder. She's going to give me her recipe though, so soon I'll be cranking out the goods :o)


Tonight Sarah will be in town. It's going to be a blast talking about old times and catching up for a few hours. It's cool that each of us is the type of person who can spend years away from a friend and the get together and be comfortable as if we'd never been apart.

I wonder what she's been up to in North Bay? I know I talked to her one other time and she was talking about some guy who was her new boyfriend. I remember thinking it wouldn't last and it didn't. I wonder when Sarah will eventually settle down? Maybe she'll be farther along that I'm expecting. We'll see.


Ok, lastly, my computer is still at the office (duh, obviously...) so today is going to be a fun day of backups and reinstalls. I'm planning on staying at the office later than usual until I'm done. Wish me luck!

Ta-ta.

previous - next