leave a note____
_newest entry___
__entry index___
___diaryland___

2003-04-24 - 11:59 p.m.

I went out and took pictures today. I went to the driving range with my sister and on the way back we stopped at a few places to walk around and take pictures. I'm glad I made time to do that because I would have regretted it if I hadn't taken any pictures of the spring time.

I called around about the car insurance today and it turns out I have even more work to do than I thought. It's such a pain in the ass... sigh. But such is life, and we all have to put up with it, so I'm not going to say any more than that. I've called around to find the best prices before so I'll just do it again and be done with it.

I was thinking of Elliot Lake again today. I'm not sure why I think of it so fondly, but it started when I remembered a class trip to a marsh near the high school I went to. I remember I picked up a full garbage bag's worth of trash on the walk back alone. It was so beautiful, though, and I especially remember that it was a well-worn path to a place I'd never seen. There must be dozens more little precious spots like that in Elliot Lake that I could discover. I know I could go back to Angel lake and see ducks again just like I did when I was 12. I could probably climb the exact same pine trees and get the same great view. There are so many places around Elliot Lake that are going to be a part of me until I die... I wonder if I'll end up living there again. It occurred to me that I might live and work in Ottawa for a few years (or a few dozen) until I make my fortune (ha ha) but really, enough money to retire, and then move back to Elliot Lake to end my life where it started.

I remember the sadness I felt on my trip down here when I was driving south of Sudbury, leaving the north shore. I think if I ever drove back up there one day with the intention of staying, I would feel like I was going home.

ps it's 11:59 pm as much is I'm 19 1/2 :oP

previous - next