leave a note____
_newest entry___
__entry index___
___diaryland___

2003-01-11 - 12:18 a.m.

I forgot to write a diary entry today. Technically yesterday since it's 12:08 but I don't really think that way.

I'll let myself off the hook this time for a few reasons, one being that I thought I had a wicked case of the flu on its way last night but escaped miraculously unscathed and felt almost normal this morning.

I've stopped writing in my diary first thing in the morning and I even mentioned that today in conversation with my parents. I really need to do that first thing in the morning. When I first moved here, I did write in my diary first thing in the morning, with a glass of OJ to boot. (Well, 5 alive, but it counted). Since then, I've started having breakfast when I go upstairs instead of writing right away and it's been the reason I keep forgetting.

Dilligence. Yes, in a word, dilligence is something that I was learning at the apartment and that seems to be slipping out of my life lately.

It's so easy because I'm on extremely extended vacation, aka unemployed :o) This was supposed to be the week that I wrote a new resume and I did start off that way but got sidetracked by sleeping through a lot of wednesday and thursday as a flu avoidance tactic. For most of today I kept expecting to get worse instead of better and I still can't believe my luck.. I know what it feels like to have something nasty coming my way and I'm so shocked I wasn't throwing up a lung last night I don't know what to think.

Thank god for rest and echinacea :o)

Oh! I started a wicked painting today. I got so sidetracked I lost track of time and night fell while I was painting so that at the end of the session it was after 6pm and it was quite dark in the room. I started out just doodling a room but then ended up going "outside" the room between some arches and painting a distant shoreline. I spent an hour straight doing the end of a peninsula with the proper sky colour, some clouds, and a fair chunk of trees. I'm extremely happy with the tree textures and most of the clouds, and I'm just picturing that small portion of the painting that is complete extending slowly across the screen to fill the whole scene. It's an exciting thought, considering the depth of detail I'm using so far. If I finish it to my satisfaction (and I do plan to!) I'll post it on my diary.

Ok, with that thought I'm going to "bed" which means I'm going to lie under the covers with my guitar on my stomach and practise some scales and fool around with chords until I'm tired enough to sleep.

Yesterday I recorded myself on the mic instead of typing a diary entry, which was strange. I couldn't fight the feeling that I was talking to an audience, so I stopped treating it as a diary entry and started just making it a "note to self" type recording. I tried playing along to some Blind Melon, I think, and I later on whistled in time with the music, but making up my own tune. That's something I've always wanted to catch myself doing on "tape" :o) I'll have to listen to that soon.

Anyway, I'm pretty excited. Heheheh considering I didn't want to write much in the first place :oP Tomorrow is a new day. I made my first Visa payment yesterday (today?) and so I can't complain about my behaviour. I'm doing about the best I can at the moment and life is great, so why be anything but happy?

Ta ta.

Future artist signing off.

previous - next