leave a note____
_newest entry___
__entry index___
___diaryland___

-

ar Diary,

I've finally made the plunge and upgraded from windows 2000 to linux. I love it. I finally feel like I have all the control over my computer, all the time. I know there aren't as many programs developed for linux, but it really doesn't matter because all the programs I need are here and they function much better.

Of course, I still have windows 2000 installed on my machine. I had to keep it to be able to play some of my favourite games. Just like when I installed windows 2000, I had to keep an installation of windows 98 to play some of my favourite games :oP

I need to figure out the word wrap on gedit.

Ok, never mind, it doesn't have any. That's ok. I'll find a different program. Or write my own :o) I can't wait to get to developing stuff. Oh, and while I was installing linux, I just checked off the "SQL server" component during installation so I would have a database on this machine. :o) This is going to change how I program.

This morning I'm going to an Open Arms meeting/get together with the family. I'm driving my own car though because apparently it can last until 2 or 3 and I'm not sure if I'll have anything to do. I still want to go though because it's a good way to meet people and I want to know more about how homeschooling is done around here.

Oh. I completely forgot. I need to figure out how DHCP works on this system. Oh. Never mind. Some message comes up when the system starts up saying that an IP address can't be found for the hostname assigned to me by cogeco, but it doesn't matter, I still have internet access.

Woo. Anyway, time for me to wrap this up, we're about to leave.

I had a fun visit with Pam yesterday :o) It was so nice to chat again. I can't believe how well we get along now. I used to think she was such a psycho but she's matured just like I have and now we're both fairly normal people. Heh.

K. gotta go.

ps crap! I forgot to write an entry yesterday :o( I didn't even realise until I went to save this one and there's no jan 14th entry saved. Sigh.

previous - next