leave a note____
_newest entry___
__entry index___
___diaryland___

2003-05-27 - 11:17 a.m.

Hello again wonderful world. It seems I've been away too long. It's always nice to be back :o) Coming back from my trip was like heading away from the edge of the pit after crawling out, just putting extra distance between myself and a nasty bit of the past. Now I'm back in the sunshine and it's wonderful as it always was.

This morning I woke up at 8 after lounging around in bed. I went for a roller blade to mail a letter, cash a cheque and buy some soy milk and ginger. What a beautiful morning. Since then I've eaten, cleaned the bathroom, done laundry and played my guitar, oh and rearranged my desktop icons and background image, and it's only 10:52am :o) Now, to make this trend continue. The one things that glaringly stands out in my mind is that I MUST MUST MUST absolutely MUST stay off the computer at night. I can under no circumstances find myself watching 10:59, 11:59 and 12:59 slip by as I try to force myself not to play the next level of CS, NS, or get to the next level in Diablo 2. There are dozens of other games and pastimes I could find myself sucked into that would rob me of my sleep and my routine, but I just can't let myself go there. I know how I'll feel if I do. Life can keep being this good if only I'm willing not to let myself slip away.

I got the new Gathering CD yesterday :o) What a wonderful thing to find waiting for me after a two week vacation. I love it already, and I'm only listening to it for the second time as I write this. I love it because it's completely unlike anything they've ever done before, yet it's undeniably The Gathering and everything I like about them is there. Add to that the fact that they have improved their musicianship yet again and you have an album with a lot of reasons to be loved.

..

I'm trying to remember some of the thoughts I had on my way back from Quebec. My "down but on the up" mix sure made me thoughtful. Some lyrics really stuck out.. "Now you're gone, it's too late. I was wrong. It's my fate" - Lacuna Coil, "The first place that's on my mind is the last place I find each time" - Beth Orton, "But I won't cry for yesterday, there's an ordinary world somehow I have to find" - Duran Duran, "..that you would pick me up and noticed that I am just a little smoother in your hand" - Nichole Nordeman. For a non-christian, that line certainly doesn't mean the same to me as it was intended, but I still have all the same emotion attached to it as someone who's convinced themselves that a great mystical being is out there. Weird. But then again, I am.

Ok wow, that was a detour and a half as I scoured the web for lyrics to remind me of which ones touched me the most. I feel that if they were important to me at that time, then they define who I was at that time. I'm sure there's another I'm missing... Oh well.

Time to go take care of some business. Have some contacting to do, some email checking, some banking. Computers rock :) I also have to write my resume. Eek. Well, I'll write again very soon. Probably first things tomorrow.

Ps it's wonderful to have real internet again :o)

previous - next