leave a note____
_newest entry___
__entry index___
___diaryland___

2004-02-07 - 6:02 p.m.

strange, I wrote this entry on the 4th but it didn't get posted? Huh...

What a great day! From the work performance point of view, this is the best day I've had in years. I'm just ripping through complex process flowcharts, redesigning and vastly improving the task scheduling algorithms I'd first thrown together to add multithreading capability to my app. (It's not "mine" in the ownership sense since I'm being paid to create it, but it's "mine" in the sense that it's the product of my daily efforts and no one else's).

What used to go on was an unstructured medley of task creation and deletion that was unfortunately mostly controlled within the tasks themselves instead of by the task agent that managed them. Aside from that I gave up on having a clear and concise ownership and depency relationships between tasks. At least the stuff I did write back then worked without a hitch. It just wasn't very elegant.

Now my shit is elegant. Gone are the days of messy oboxious parameter initializations. I've started to use more and more of the real features of the C++ language and things like variable argument lists and type specific constructors are really helping to make my code cleaner. The processes are way better too. Trees representing who called what and what depends on what, as well as a new DependsOn process that lets me just call the task I need instead of first setting up the 3 tasks it depends on. Let the rest happen automatically. Less code to mess up, more time to move on to the next chunk of development.

I'm realllllly liking coding today :D

previous - next