leave a note____
_newest entry___
__entry index___
___diaryland___

2004-02-07 - 6:03 p.m.

Wow I hadn't even realized I haven't written. Blurry days, for sure. (checked on this just before posting this one; I'd written entries on the 3rd, 4th, and 5th, of which I decided not to post 2 and the third mysteriously didn't make it online. That's fixed now)

Programming is going along very well, superseded perhaps only by my progress in guitar playing. They are vying for first place, anyway and I'm totally happy with that.

Speaking of programming I just finished doing a big chunk of work and the new and improved started-almost-from-scratch project now transfers files. Woot. I improved on the old process in a bunch of ways and now the code to do a file transfer only takes a few lines. I'm still not totally satisfied with how messy and large the return value cases get. Fixing that will have to wait until later though...

I'd forgotten how time consuming and boring it is to track down obscure little bugs. Need to remind myself again to code in smaller chunks, just do little bits of functionality at a time. I lost some time today because of bugs caused by slight oversights in the previous day's programming that weren't at the forefront of my mind anymore and had to be tracked down by trial and error. Regardless, the thing works now and progress continues at a steady pace.

previous - next