leave a note____
_newest entry___
__entry index___
___diaryland___

2004-01-28 - 3:30 p.m.

This morning's random songs

January 28th, 2004

carl brennan - 04 jan 27 lazy afternoons

pearl jam - daughter

pearl jam - go

vanilla ice - havin a roni

the cure - close to me

pearl jam - given to fly

simon and garfunkel - the 59th street bridge song

chet baker - someone to watch over me

moby - bring back my happiness

the gathering - pathfinder

the gathering - great ocean road

system - marmalade

beth orton - god song


Oh cool. I wrote down these songs cause I wanted to remember what had played on my computer this morning, and at first I wasn't too sure where to save it. It finally occurred that I should save it as a diary entry :) It would be cool to burn this list onto a CD just for fun. It might remind me of how I felt this morning, who knows? Interesting factlet: 7 of these songs are legally owned (well the first one isn't a song and it's my own recording, so..) and 6 are downloaded from the web.

Last night my rear left tire was low when I got to Saara's and was completely flat after Alpha. I went and put air in it before picking up the kids but this morning it was completely flat again. I put the spare on and it looks like I'll need to buy a new (used) tire. I don't want to get this one repaired because a) it was weak enough to just pop on its own due to the cold, and b) I drove it flat for a bit in frigid temps. Today was -35C (-47 with windchill) so we're getting to the colder part of the year. It'll get worse before it gets better. Funny thing is that it doesn't really feel that cold. I know it's because my capillaries have adjusted and retracted from the surface of my skin over the course of the last few months. Our bodies are amazing things.

Time to get to work. I have the pointer that will give me the pointer that I need to walk the DOM in the IE window I'm launching. I need to get access to the wmp activex control through the DOM so I can do something called "creating a sink" for events that it creates. A lot of learning and programming to get done before I've reached my goal for the day. I want to do this so I can report to Cory that I can implement the features he wants. This is already the 5th day since our meeting and I haven't said a word to him about the research I've done. I tentatively thought to myself that I would write him an email during the weekend but it's already wednesday. Where does the time go?

A good block of work now is what I need most. Sorry, Saara. I really did want to go over for supper, but I need to make work a priority cause I'm so far in the hole. I'll take a raincheque on deer roast though :D

Gotta go bring my rent cheque to Evelyn tonight and I should call Advance to make an appointment for an oil change. Where will I buy a used tire? I'll ask the Advance people for advice, they'll know. I'll do that right away.

oh ps I recorded a half hour of accoustic playing last night. First recording in almost half a month. I think that's a new record ;) It's ok though. I did a different approach this time. I did takes of a certain "song" over and over until I had played it through once to my satisfaction, then moved on to the next ditty. Afterwards I went through the original recording and extracted the good takes of the songs and saved them under descriptive names. It makes a good snapshot of where I'm at in my playing and creation at the moment. Also, Saara and I played guitar together today. It was a lot of fun :) I was so excited :P

ok, got things to get done!

previous - next